“Oh God” is not a good Mantra

My God what have I gotten myself into? I know it’s only my first week but I can’t even get to a full 2 miles and it’s a struggle the whole time. I tried Mantras today, “You can do this,” “Don’t let down Matt,” “You are a strong woman”, but eventually that gave way to, “Oh God! Oh God! Oh God!”
I started out strong but half way through all the things that plague me about running came to the surface and I have to figure out how to get past those obstacles. I’m still not sure if they are physical or psychological.
From everything I read, it takes 10 weeks to train for a half-marathon, but you have to be able to run 3 miles at the start of training and here I am struggling to get to 2. I have two more weeks to get up to 3. If I can’t do that I’m screwed.
I will say this though, I do know I ran a little longer today than Tuesday and I ran a little more Tuesday than Monday so at least I’m improving. I just have to stay positive.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

