Ok Brain, We’re going to need to talk

I had a fantastic spin class this morning and boy did I need that. My whole week has been thrown off and I feel like I haven’t accomplished anything. Not running Monday was my fault since it set the tone and pushed off my run to one of the hottest days so far. Tuesday’s spin was for some odd reason so awful I didn’t know if I should cry or throw the bike through the glass (not that I’d do either).

But today, I seriously needed today. It was probably the best I’ve done in spin in a long time especially since they got the new bikes, which I have been hating until now. I kept up with the numbers Eddie shouted out and was able to keep to the beat of the music up until about level 18 which made me feel strong again. Plus, in the locker room I found out that not one, not two, but three of the regulars are running in the Half-marathon and it was awesome because I got to talk about it and my fears and concerns and actually have questions answered.

My biggest problem is I’m a chronic planner and a massive worrier and I have not been able to shut off the inane questions that keep popping into my head. I can’t talk about it with Matt because he just tells me to run and forget about everything else. But I can’t. I can’t stop thinking about what clothes I should be running in: shorts, those weirdo skort thingys or the leggings that most likely will make me look like a tick person. What hat am I supposed to wear? I’ve already been informed my Yankees cap will be a big No-No, so what then. An O’s cap will clash with most colors, I have no ties to the Terps and as a member of a hardcore Giants family I doubt I’d be allowed to wear a Ravens cap. And then there are the more serious questions about nutrition and how much do I need to alter my workout routine, what the hell are Gel Caps and how do girls get to keep those knee highs up the whole 13 miles?

Maybe I am over thinking things. Maybe I do need to just listen to Matt; to treat him like a Nike-loving Yoda. “There is no try, Just do it.”

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ok Brain, We’re going to need to talk

  1. Paul Vigna says:

    Definitely definitely not a Ravens hat!

  2. Christine Craney says:

    A RAVENS CAP?!?!?? I think not!!

Leave a Reply

