If only a baby can fall everyday

Well I made a full loop around the inside of the park and probably could have run a little bit more though not really sure how much at that point. I did a Rocky-at-the-top-of the-stairs thing when I finished and some girl caught me and smiled. Today was the first time I felt strong and steady the whole run, but there was so much weird stuff to distract that me that I think it helped.

It was like running in a Fellini film, minus the clowns. First, I encountered a man running barefoot with a baby carriage that had no baby in it. Not sure what kind of training that is. Then I came across a guy walking a dog with wheels and directly after that I came across a giant lone poodle looking at me indignantly. When I hit the duck pond I had a conversation in my head with two men bird watching and I saw a woman tell her grandkids as they fed the ducks about duck a l’orange. Kind of mean if you ask me.

It was great because all of this stuff kept my brain busy which meant I could just run. But then I hit a point where there was nothing to distract me and I started to feel my legs tingle and became aware of my breathing and I got a little thirsty and wished I had some water but I’m not going to be one of those people who wears tool belts when they run. What am I, Inspector Gadget? So I’ll just stay thirsty and then I saw a kid teetering on the back of a baby carriage as her dad ignored her and I totally knew she was going to fall. So I kept my gaze on her the entire time and just as I got close, yup, she fell, and she cried and that gave me something to go on until the end.

Patterson Park Running Map

Now if every run could be that eventful I think I can make it.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

