Country Roads Don’t Take me Anywhere

After a great A.M. spin class and a lovely day at the beach I thought I was going to have a nice vacation run. I was assured over and over again how easy it is to run on the Eastern Shore because of how flat it is and I was really excited to see new things.

Yeah, was I wrong. Granted, it is lovely here and there were so many pretty things to see but, not only do I hate my husband (again), I’m not too keen on my father-in-law at the moment either. They mapped out a 3-mile route for me that is one they have done many times themselves and they assured me it was safe. I mean, I guess relatively speaking it is safe in that I made it back to write this blog post but, oh my, was that a scary run. Fine I made the 3 miles, whoop-dee-doo. I had to dodge so many cars it wasn’t even funny because down here there are no sidewalks. And The Route was so windy I had to keep switching sides of the street to make sure I was constantly in eye view of the cars. This isn’t Frogger. Add into that the dirt and gravel I had to run on every time a car came near me, the pine cones I had to jump over and the sprinklers I had to sprint past and I did not come back a happy camper. Plus, and yes there is a plus, at one point the road sloped down and I was running like one of those people who has one leg shorter than the other. My right calf was killing me.

I’m sorry, but I’ll take running in Baltimore in 90-degree weather any day over this country sh*t. I’ll be very curious to know what Matthew has planned for our long run tomorrow.

Matt's map of the Route

My map of the route

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

