Horrible, with a capital H, run

I woke up this morning pretty much knowing I shouldn’t run, but because I’m in training I haven’t yet figured out the difference of when to push it or when to back off I decided to go. It’s been a pretty busy two days in the sun. Matt spent all day yesterday fishing and I was with my niece and nephew at a water park. We finished the evening with steamed crabs and beer and slept for 10 hours straight.

With the sounds of barking dogs, video game noises and the constant chatter of children, a run seemed like not such a bad idea. But I knew pretty much out of the gate it wasn’t going to be good. My shins and ankles were killing me from the start but Matthew told me to push through it. As I mentioned yesterday I’m freaked out by the lack of sidewalks so I’m back on edge and stressed about this country road running thing. I notice that my breathing is heavier and truth be told we probably left the house too late because the sun and the humidity was unbearable. But Matthew said keep going and so we did.

We reached the stop sign and turned left and I asked Matthew where the 4-mile mark would be and he said we hadn’t even reached the 3-mile mark yet and that we were running to the stop sign. This is when I started to mentally lose it. It would seem the run I had yesterday was not the run I thought. The stop sign I was told to turn around at was not the real stop sign. Matt says, “That’s the T in the road the stop sign is up ahead.” That’s some country road bullsh*t right there. And so I burst out into tears as I ran toward the elusive Real stop sign. And when I say I burst out into tears I was sobbing my heart out gulping air. It was embarrassing and awful and Matt told me to calm down and to try and push through it.

We got to the stop sign, turned around and made it at least back to the main road to his parent’s house but for every time I said I couldn’t make it any further I wasn’t too wrong. I finally reached a point where everything hurt, no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t get my breathing to even out, I started to get chills, I was a little light headed and my legs began to buckle. In the end, I had to stop and after walking a bit I had to sit on a curb. I failed and I couldn’t do no more.

I know not every run is going to be good. It’s not like every workout I’ve had is great. Some days are obviously better than others and I know when I get back to Baltimore I have great runs in my future. Today was not that day. But there were a lot of lessons learned in today’s run because let’s face it, I did a ton wrong. First, was eating a batch of salty crabs the night before. I’m sorry, I’m not turning down crabs, but all of that salt before a run was a stupid idea. And then there was the fact that I probably didn’t drink enough water before I left. Then there is the time of day. We should have gone earlier. And for me, the fact that I am so not used to running down here, I’m not used the thicker air, the lack of sidewalks, the fact that I have no clue where I am actually going, my fragile mental and physical state and it all added up to disaster.

(I will say this, later in the day I made Matthew drive to the route so we could map out exactly the mileage and I did 2.8 miles both days so really not too bad. Not as long as I should have but not as miserable as I originally thought. Look below for pics of the route.)

Searching for the elusive stop sign.

Beautiful scenery I was missing.

Tiny bridge from hell.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

