Slow and steady gets you the last beer

The good news is I ran Matt’s run door to door today. A full 5 miles and I tackled the uphill end just fine. The bad news is I have a slew of problems I need to figure out how to handle because if I listened to my brain I would have never accomplished that.

I woke up this morning already with a defeatist attitude since my last run was so lousy and the one before that not so great. And it doesn’t help that I’ve been feeling a bit lost since I accomplished what I wanted to do with the park. It took all of my might to actually get out of the house and it was a huge chore. When I started to run my ankles hurt and that moved into my shins and eventually wrapped around to my calves, but I remember Matt saying you need to push through it so I kept going. About half way into the run my feet started to tingle and now the whole lower half of my body is something I just can’t ignore. But I know Matt is training me to learn how to run through some things because once in the race I can’t let the little things get me down. Which is, in fact, my other big problem: I can’t ignore the little things. And then there is the other issue of I am molasses slow. I have good form and my breathing is steady but I have yet to learn how to run the mileage and a faster speed at the same time.

But I am proud of myself. I did in fact push through everything and there were little things along the way that helped. I’m glad I’ve graduated from running in the park to along the waterfront because the scenery is just so much better and there is more to distract you: a cute little crab swimming in the water, the beautiful boats, the sun glistening on the water. And because it’s popular with most runners, seeing them made me not want to stop in front of them so I would push past people I saw. And then there is the smiles you get when you pass each other that makes me feel like I’d be a poser if I stopped at that point.

Once I hit the 3 mile mark I decided to see how much I could push to the 4 mile mark I ran with Matt two Saturdays ago. After that I just kept saying to myself one more block and that turned into another  block and then on Ann Street a city worker yelled out, “Looking good you can do it!” And that totally pushed me to go all of the way up to Lombard Street and when I turned the corner, I thought, maybe one hill, ok, maybe another hill and suddenly I’m on Chester Street and so close to home I thought, “F**k It! Why not?” And while my form started to falter toward the end, I did it.

Did I mention the new pair of Nike running pants Matt bought me? It was so nice to not have any wardrobe malfunctions to distract me. And they actually made me feel like a runner. Maybe I can just pin the success of the run all on those pants.

My fancy new running pants.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow and steady gets you the last beer

  1. Margaret Bowen says:

    That was a great story, and funny to. I’m so glad your picking up your speed and enjoying it….I never got passed the,” my ankles hurt stage”, okay lets stop.
    Good job!
    Maggie

  2. bearrunner says:

    Nice profile picture!!! love it

    cheers

Leave a Reply

