Pulverized!

I woke up this morning feeling absolutely pulverized. I’m reduced to the boney ease of a ragdoll. It’s my fault though for letting both Matt and Eddie act as my training coaches; so not only did I run the 5 miles yesterday morning, I walked 3 miles to the gym, did Eddie’s 50-minute spin class, and walked 3 miles home. I’m sure some hardcore runners out there might jump down my throat about that, but I was fine yesterday and my recovery after each exercise was pretty quick.

In all honesty, I never in a million years thought I’d make it this far and I have to learn to listen to my body as well as listening to my “coaches” because if it wasn’t for them I’d never get this far. I’d never be this strong. So I understand that I have to respect their judgment even if I’m tired. Obviously they know more of what I am capable of then I am. And let’s face it, I can do lazy all by myself just fine thank you.

Another thing about today is I have to quickly figure out a new weekly routine.  It’s kind of hard for me to go from gym rat to runner. I had my routine, I had the classes I like and now I have to switch stuff around to accommodate this new training. I know I need crosstraining, but I just need to figure out what works best for me.

Of course my excuse today for doing absolutely nothing is this lack of routine. Lame excuse I know, but no one is around to tell me otherwise so here I sit playing Solitaire and checking out Facebook. (shhhhh, don’t tell the boys).

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

