Gorilla in the Mist

Today was a bit of an all around difficult day. First, in Body Pump Eddie decided he wanted me to add weight to my bar for all upper body moves. I’m surprised I even have arms left. Then I attempted a half an hour on the treadmill but that was a bit of a disaster since I have to learn how to use the machine and figure out what settings I’m actually supposed to be on. Plus, I was having that cankleshin pain again, which was worse on the treadmill.  As of this moment, I do not like the Random setting. Random was being a bit mean. (The treadmill is a whole other post).

Next, I blew the Caribou Coffee Trivia question when it was about Hemingway of all people. Me! I blew an Ernest Hemingway question. Then again I never even heard of, “The Torrents of Spring,” plus it’s only 10-cents off. I didn’t lose “Who Wants to be a Millionaire.” Finally, when I got to sit down, relax, drink some coffee and eat my sandwich I couldn’t find the opening to the sandwich bag. Seriously, no lie, I was turning the damn thing over and over again like a Gorilla who found it in the wild. I was pretty damn close to chewing through the bag when it finally unfolded.  Not like I fully enjoyed it since I messed up and didn’t put the pickles between the turkey and the cheese so it was soggy plus the entire time I’m eating it, I can hear Elizabeth (aka Auntie) in my head tsk, tsking me about eating pickles in the first place. She told me to back off all cured and salted things while training (something she learned when she was boxing), which is tough because I’m the girl who doesn’t have a sweet tooth, I have an Italian Cold Cut Sub tooth.  And don’t even get me started on the whole nutrition thing, that’s a completely different post as well. So many rules and I’m not big on sacrifice.

Last, but not least, can someone please, please, please tell me at what point I’ll stop being in pain? It’s always something: ankle, shin, calf, back, quads, hamstrings, hips (did I miss something?). Will I ever have a moment of ease or do I have to wait until after October 15th?

13.1 miles and no salty meats, Oy!

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

