My elephant doesn’t have cancer

Matt made me run faster today and I hated every minute of it. Of course he had to point out that if I could complain I obviously had enough breath left in me. He also pointed out that while I felt like I was racing, he proved I wasn’t going that fast since he could walk beside me at his normal pace.

But I realized that I should maybe complain less, since it would seem that people are starting to show concern about me with my blog posts; especially the Eastern Shore crying post. I’m not trying to make anyone worry or feel bad (and I’m not trying to paint my husband in a bad light, he’s a good guy), my posts are supposed to be the most honest account of the training possible and everything isn’t going to be pretty. I think the problem stems from the fact that so many articles about such training, for say a marathon, are these uplifting stories about people over coming cancer, running while on dialysis, racing for a dead friend. “My dad had Cancer.” “My Mom had cancer.” “I had cancer.” “My elephant had cancer.” It’s like they should have the theme song to “Iron Eagle” as a soundtrack. But my elephant didn’t have cancer. I’m just a girl whose husband signed her up for a race and decided to be her coach. I have a lot of people standing behind me rooting me on, but in the end it’s nothing more, nothing less.

Truth is, there were a couple of posts where I wasn’t sure I wanted people to know “that.” But I decided in the end to err with honesty. I cannot be the only person to go through what I am experiencing and acting perfect will just piss people off in the end. (Take note Gwyneth Paltrow [and I don’t even hate you, I think you’re just misunderstood]).

Look, you’re going to get the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly here. Maybe if I don’t get in trouble I can post a couple of uplifting songs. But don’t expect me to prove anything or show I’m capable of anything or be something I’m not. I can only take this one day at a time, one run at a time and hope for the best. If I have to make fun of myself in the meantime, so be it. I’m at least strong enough for that.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

