Speedy Gonzalez I am not

Well friends, I did something I’m not proud of today; I cut my run short at the 3-mile mark and walked home. I thought I’d be ok with it since the reason I stopped was because I started to hyperventilate, but as I headed back up the hill to my house, head held low, pit in stomach, I realized I was very disappointed with myself.

It doesn’t help that I woke up to a pity party this morning and to rain no less so let’s just say the motivation to run wasn’t even there.

But I’m not sure how much all of that was the full culprit for me cutting my run short. I’d say the bad attitude just didn’t help but the problem is I can’t run fast. As mentioned a million times in other posts Matt really, really, really wants us to run the Half-marathon together. And I would love to be able to accomplish that. He is slowly trying to get me to pick up my speed, so I tried that today, but off the bat I had trouble with my breathing. At this moment I just can’t do both speed and distance. Add to the fact that as soon as I hit the Canton waterfront a couple started their run directly in front of me, and shocker of all shockers, were running the same speed as me. I didn’t want to go slower and I figured why not sprint past them just to put some distance between us. So once we hit the floating pier I took off until I go back to the regular path and that was the moment my breathing went downhill.

Here’s where I really, really need help. If I’m breathing heavy I can come back from that, but once I cross into hyperventilation town I simple cannot regulate my breathing unless I stop (the run not breathing). I’m still not sure is the disappointment arose from the fact that I couldn’t push through my normal 5-mile run, that I decided to go home instead of catch my breath and start back up, the fact that I have yet to learn how too not pysch myself out or all of the above. I know not every run is going to be good, and I’m trying to look at the problems in all of the bad runs now so I can learn what to correct when it comes to the race, but at some point I need to start focusing on running the race, not just running. I can mess up a run. I can’t mess up the race.

I wonder what Pippa’s secret was?

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

