A Sad Sack no more! (at least for today)

It has been brought to my attention how obvious it is that I’ve been disgruntled (disillusioned, disappointed? I can’t even think of the word now) with my workouts lately, the runs in particular. And I know I’ve been in a funk (and not a good Parliament kind of funk), but I didn’t realize how obvious I was being about that funk. Though, I am writing these blog posts so it’s not like people are reading my mind. (Or are you?) But truth of the matter I have been real unhappy these past two weeks because of the series of bad workouts, the  lack of routine and the all around feeling of defeat I have with this half-marathon before I’ve even started.

I was so strong before this process and feel like I’ve had to take a major step back with everything else. Lunges hurt. Climbs hurt. Sprints hurt. Did I mention lunges hurt? And I’m having a hard time dealing with that. Going down on weights in Body Pump, lowering my gear in Spin, stopping Step all together because it hurts too much, that’s been killing me.

How I want to cross the finish line with Matt.

It was obvious yesterday morning after spin I was depressed about this (let’s not even talk about doing the class in an un-air conditioned room). Eddie said I was in need of a pep talk and he wasn’t wrong. He also told me, “Failure is the best medicine for success.”

And then came today, the day I’ve been waiting for the past two weeks, but this last week in particular since I was the lamest this week. Today, a day where I’m actually in a good mood, feel jazzed about running again, and had a workout that didn’t suck. One of the gym regulars Katherine had asked about my training and when I told her how it wasn’t going that well she came at me with great advice. She gave me the kind of clarity I’ve been missing, as well as a lot of good info that might be just what sets my ass back on track. That was followed by a decent Body Pump class (sadly not with Eddie or Kim for that matter) but decent none-the-less, and I needed that. My ego needed that and in all honesty my brain needed it. I don’t like being a sad sack of weakness.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

