Empty Calories

Tuesday Night.

Body Pump 78 is about to be released in 3 weeks and Eddie told me he wants me to learn the beginning. So I went to the web to find videos of the latest release only to realize I really don’t look the part.  I definitely don’t look like I work out 6 days a week (Heineken belly doesn’t help). In one video, this girl with six pack abs had on some sort of one-shoulder Herve Leger type sports bra and here I am afraid to even wear a tank top in the gym. I mean, I look ok, and I’m pretty pleased with my progress, but I know the sacrifice it takes to look the part and, well, I’m not good at sacrifice.

I’m very well aware of the fact that proper nutrition is an important part of, well, life, but also in particular to working out and training. I get it.  You need to fuel the body properly in order for it to function properly (And to not hurt yourself). I read everything that I can about food and working out, I have a subscription to Fitness Magazine (Thanks Jennq) but…..reading and doing is not the same.

First, let me state that I feel in general that I eat pretty healthy. I don’t eat, use or cook with processed foods except canned tomatoes when tomatoes are out of season. All of the food in my freezer was something I froze fresh except the ubiquitous bag of frozen peas. I don’t eat out in general let alone eat fast food. And I don’t drink soda or juice or anything that isn’t water, coffee, tea or booze. And there in truth lies the real problem. I’m a bit of a louche athlete (actually let’s omit the word athlete).

The thing is, I know what is good and not good for me, but I also know what I like and don’t like and both those statements coincide. Brown rice and whole wheat pasta are good for you. I do not like brown rice and whole wheat pasta. Alcohol is empty calories. I like empty calories. A LOT.

I’m not trying to be Jillian Michaels over here. I’m just a normal person who likes to work out and is trying to find that balance between healthy and enjoying life. Maybe I should blame it all on Raiders of the Lost Ark. Marion Ravenwood was the first strong female character I admired (nerd alert I know). She could kick ass and drink any man under the table. Plus, she was a fit pretty brunette. I wanted to out-drink Himalayans all while being able to fight Nazis too! Who wouldn’t.  I bet Marion never had to eat whole wheat pasta.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Empty Calories

  1. Christine Craney says:

    LOVE it, I feel the same way about Marion too. So funny!

Leave a Reply

