Inception

I woke up early this morning, turned on the TV and “Inception” happened to be on from the beginning.  Only 10 mins into the movie and I was sucked in instantly. I figured I was done for with the run right there. Besides, Matthew thought I should take the day off since I worked my a** off this week at the gym and my legs were feeling it for sure. But you want to know something; the movie (yeah, I know I’m way late to that party) was so THRILLING I had to run after it. I had so much energy the thought of not running wasn’t even a question.

Matthew was pretty damn tired (he already ran 8 miles) so we opted for a short run which was fine by me. And what a run it was. For the first time I actually enjoyed it and even though the long hill up Patterson Park was brutal I got my first runner’s high today. I don’t know if it was the movie (something Matthew thinks I need to watch before the race) or the two glasses of Farmer’s Market chocolate milk I had before hand but other than my breathing I had no major complications with the run.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not sure what a longer run would have done to me. I notice I have this issue around the 4 mile mark where my mouth becomes really dry and for some reason that complicates my breathing. Obviously I’m doing something wrong and have yet to figure that out. But I didn’t run those last two miles. I ran a good solid short run and I think I needed that mentally more than anything else. I’ll figure the other stuff out in time.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inception

  1. Ray LePera says:

    That movie wasn’t worth trying to figure out all the layers of dreams going on. The South Park spoof was much better!

Leave a Reply

