Unfortunately, I need Mean Matt

I didn’t have the best run today, though it wasn’t the worst, and there was no real reason for it. (well a heat wave doesn’t help, but I ran early). I haven’t run since last Saturday when we cut our run short and I didn’t run Tuesday after July 4th weekend because I wasn’t feeling it and since we were on the Eastern Shore this weekend I decided to avoid the whole country roads debacle again. So I kind of feel like I’ve taken a big step backwards and with 13 weeks left until the half-marathon that’s not good.

Mean Matt

The problem is, I can invent a million excuses to NOT run and can’t ever think of a single reason TO run. I don’t really enjoy it, I find myself getting bored pretty darn fast, and even once I have my running clothes on, even after I have left the house and hit the road, and even when I don’t have that much to complain about I still think of a million reasons why I should stop and think of all the places where I could stop. I’m blatantly not good at running on my own, which is why I need Matt’s help so much.  I can do lazy all by my own thank you very much; ESPECIALLY when I’m not that into the task at hand.

Swell Matt

But I’ve been getting a lot of complaints from readers of this blog about Matt (mainly from Matt himself) but also Elizabeth told me she was glad she knew him otherwise based on the blog she wouldn’t like him. Matt knowing how lazy I can get is going to make him push me and he’s going to push hard. So here’s the disclaimer: The “Character Matt”, the “Running Coach Matt”, are not the real Matt. So I use a little poetic license (a little, he is a different person once we’re out running but not that bad {caveat: the speed thing is annoying}). But come on, what’s funnier, “I hate my husband,” or “He’s a swell guy who makes a mean banana stuffed French toast”?

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

