Yeah Supplements!

I did something today I never thought I would achieve, I ran 7 miles, and 7 decent miles at that (not without the usual complaints of course). This was, of course, after I mapped the route for the first time using MapMyRun.com only to realize that I have not been hitting my actual numbers all along. (Google Maps is a LIE!!!) I freaked out and almost derailed the run before I even started.


7 Mile Run

But I did it and admittedly, not without help. (Not Matt, even though he was a bit pushy before we left the house). No, I did my research, had a long talk with a kid at City Sports and purchased GU gels and Quench Gum.  Both I think were the life savers that got me through the run.

Two of my biggest complaints with each run have been running out of fuel around the same mile point and thirst. I’m not big on carrying anything with me because I like to keep my hands free so I can have better control of my breathing; the gum came in so handy it wasn’t even funny. I have a tiny pocket in my tank top that I kept the gum in until I hit the waterfront and when I popped the gum in my mouth it was like I had a drink of water. It kept my saliva even the whole rest of the way and I didn’t even have to think about being thirsty. I wasn’t even sure if the gel was working until about mile 6 when I realized I was still running and hadn’t slowed down like I normally do.  I definitely had more energy than normal but not anything super human, I was just able to sustain the run for most of the 7 miles until the last leg home up hill, which is always a killer.

The worst part of the run wasn’t until I got home. I had just finished a bottle of water and instantly had chills. I’ve never experienced that before and Matt didn’t know what it was either but guessed it’s why people wear silver blankets after a race. (Based on research it’s a result of dehydration.) Matt was Johnny on the Spot when he jumped to action and made me a chocolate milk and banana smoothie, handed me a Luna Bar and made me sit on the stoop in the sun. I evened out pretty quickly which was good. Next time I guess I will have to bring the GU packet with me to take half way through the run.

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

