Music good, Tortas bad

Small run today, though with a heat wave going on this week I planned on it being small. Tuesdays are my way to maintain a routine, as well as a day to test things out for the bigger Saturday run. The past two times I tried a run/walk/run pattern. Both times were fairly successful. My thinking is, if anything happens during the race and I need to stop for a moment I want my brain to be trained to know to start back up.
I mean, if I get woozy, or a Charlie horse, or a bad side stitch I might have to stop (though Matt thinks I might get too annoyed with slower people to stop). But, I want it to be in my brain that I’m used to starting back up when the issue subsides. Run until I can’t run. Walk until I can start back up. No official stopping, just a small break to get over the issue. Last week I got woozy, this week it was a side stitch (blame that on a Torta for dinner last night, not a wise pre-run dinner but sooooo tasty). As long as I can maintain and push the long runs on Saturday I feel I am preparing myself for both situations. At the end of the day, on October 15th, Matt won’t be with me to push me so I need a back-up plan for myself.

Carnitas Torta

This week is the 13-week point to the Half-Marathon and I think I’ve done pretty well up until now. At 7 miles clocked so far I think I’m doing things at a nice steady pace. I’ve learned a lot, both good and bad and even Matthew said my enthusiasm and obsessive research is rubbing off on him (he wants to try the gels now). I’ve learned supplements help, the Quench gum really helps, and thanks to Elizabeth, solo running with music really does make the run less boring. (Thanks for lending me the MP3 player Elizabeth! And with an awesome choice of music to boot. 62-years-old and you have Daft Punk on there. That is why you are one of the coolest people I know, among other things.)

The nifty little lifesaver Elizabeth lent me.

13 weeks to get up to 7 more miles doesn’t seem so daunting anymore and that’s kind of encouraging. Though, Matthew my dear husband, I am nowhere near ready to be your running Buddy. Maybe next year.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

