The realization of a Half-Marathon is sinking in, and it’s not good

I ran a little over 7 and half miles today and I’m in so much pain it’s not even funny. Matt’s convinced it was closer to 8 miles even though I’m using MapMyRun,  but I wouldn’t doubt that since my body feels like I ran a million miles today. I could barely step up on the curb when I finished. The walk up the stairs in my house had me holding onto the railing for dear life. I was in so much pain Matt had to help me stretch because I couldn’t move my limbs on my own.

I really don’t know how I’m going to make the 13.1 miles. I know each week I run further and I do it, but lately I’m starting to really freak out over this whole thing. I was in Eddie’s spin class Tuesday night and I was dying. I was at one point on the verge of tears because I thought, I have to run for two and a half hours and I was struggling with a one hour spin class. Now granted, the day before we introduced Body Pump 78 which is a much harder release than the past few, and then I ran 4.5 miles on Tuesday morning, did a half of Zumba class before going straight into Spin. So it wasn’t just the one hour of spin that got me, but I was exhausted and fried 20 minutes into that class and it hit me that I might not have what it takes to finish the half marathon and that scares me.

I guess the only thing I can say is I did wake up this morning without any aheming and ahawing. I just got dressed and left the house. Matt didn’t have to prompt me at all, so it’s starting to become part of my routine and I know it’s something I have to do. And as I have mentioned before, the GU gels, Quench Gum, and water bottle (which I mixed with some Gatorade) all helped. And there is no way in hell without Matt’s encouragement and all of the mentioned accoutrements that I would even have made it this far.

I have 10 weeks left from this moment to make up the other 5 and a half miles and I’m really going to have to do my best to get out of my head. I need to switch, “Oh God, F**K!!!! What the F**ck was I thinking? I can’t do this. F**K!” with “Go Money, You’ve got this, Come on Money!” because if I don’t I’ve just doomed the race right there.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

