Sometimes, you just shouldn’t run

People have been asking me why I haven’t been blogging lately (I even got emails from MapMyRun wondering) and I guess the obvious answer is because I haven’t been running lately. Three weeks ago we had days upon days of heat wave (100 to 120 degrees) and yet I forged ahead and maintained my routine. One short run a week, the long run, the 6-mile roundtrip walk to and from the gym plus all of my weekday classes and I kept pushing it and pushing it because I was going on vacation and thought, that will be my week off. But the problem was, my body was breaking down. The workouts were getting to me. The heat was killing me and I started to lose form on everything, workouts put me on the verge of tears and I just wasn’t listening to my body.

Even though I knew I was going to Miami in a week, the heat wave made me decide to forgo my short and long run the week prior. I thought I would bring my laptop, run the beachfront (which I’ve done before) and it would make a great post. But last week was Miami week and obviously as you, my good readers have noticed, there was no post. I did go for the loveliest bike ride of my life though but that’s not part of the training.

So I thought to myself, since I wanted to switch my short runs from Tuesday (too much with Tuesday night Zumba and Spin) I’ll start fresh Monday, except I woke up Monday to a pretty horrendous thunder storm.

This Saturday is 10 weeks to the race and while in the past I’ve freaked out with more time on my hands, I seem oddly at ease today, like the universe has been forcing me to step back. It’s a beautiful 78 degree morning, and maybe I’ll go for a short, short run. Who knows? But as long as of this Saturday I can start back up with my training — make the 8-miles — I think I’ll be fine.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

