Officially 10-weeks to the Baltimore Marathon

Stepping out of the house today, it is obvious that today is exactly the 10-week mark until the Baltimore Marathon. Other than the fact that there were a lot more runners out than normal, cars lining Patterson Park suddenly featured little white oval 13.1 stickers and the glare of shiny new sneakers caught your eye at every corner. Yup, no one needs a calendar to know everyone out there today has begun their race training.

On a personal note: I probably had one of the best runs I have had to date. I completed 8 miles and Matthew commended me for not complaining once until toward the end. In fact he said it seemed like I was enjoying myself, but I don’t believe that for a moment. Me? Enjoy a run? No way.

It probably helps that I did everything right. For the past two months, I’ve been researching all the things I need to get me through these long runs and I think I’m finally getting a grasp on what works for me. I had a slice of whole grain bread with peanut butter and honey an hour and a half before I set out. Then at the half-way mark I took my GU gel, plus in addition to my hand held water bottle (which I had half of it iced), Matt carried another water bottle for me. When done with the first water bottle, he took the hand held one for me so I could focus on my form for the last part of the run. Nice guy, right? I was dying toward the end, went totally silent for the last mile (I know, collective gasp) and was crying “Jesus, F**K,” over and over again, but the last leg is ALL up-hill so it’s not supposed to be easy.

All-in-all I’m pleased with how today went. After not running for two weeks and freaking out over the possibility of finishing the 13.1 miles, I finally feel like I might accomplish this. If I keep up like this over the next 10 weeks I should be ok. Plus, I have decided to focus two days a week now strictly to running and bring my gym days down from five to four. I think I’ve got this.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Officially 10-weeks to the Baltimore Marathon

  1. Paul Vigna says:

    Kick it! Just don’t stop, that’s the only thing you need to know.

  2. Katherine Ziombra says:

    You can finish it! Don’t let fear get in the way of your run. You will have a great race and in the end you’ll enjoy the most awesome cold cut sandwich 🙂 I’ll be cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

