Earthquakes are pretty good excuses to not workout

As we have learned in the past I am at no loss for an excuse to not run, and yesterday’s earthquake was the doozy of all excuses. Even though I suited up this morning and ate my peanut butter and honey on bread pre-run snack, I couldn’t bring myself to leave the house. As you may or may not have learned, I tend to have a flair for the dramatic, and the thought of being tossed in the water if an aftershock hit while I was running kept playing in my head. (really, it did).

In my defense though, my experience with yesterday’s earthquake left me pretty freaked out. Matt was walking around the Inner Harbor and felt absolutely nothing, but my house was moving so much I had no idea what was going on. It felt like a giant piece of machinery was pushing it and it sounded like there were a ton of guys suddenly on my roof. The cats were running in circles not knowing where to go; I was trying to run down my stairs (with a cup of coffee in my hand no less, don’t ask) and was getting knocked around. By the time I reached the front door it was all over and my neighbors were standing in the street staring at each other trying to understand just what happened. All in all it was a pretty chaotic few moments and when it was over I was rather shaken up. (I didn’t go to spin last night). As a result, I couldn’t sleep last night at all. I had the experience playing in my head on a loop that wouldn’t stop. I don’t think I started to fall asleep until 5ish this morning, and at 8:30 am I was awoken by a furry little paw batting me in the head to wake up.  (uncool Luna).

I spent most of this morning playing should I or shouldn’t I go for a run. Between being exhausted, and the emotional toil of the day before (I also couldn’t contact my husband for over 2 hours) I was really leaning toward not running. My training schedule said I had to, my brain and body said go lie on the couch and watch E! as I cling to a meatball sub in a curled little ball. In the end, surprisingly the run won out and I started and finished my short 5-miler. I walked to the park, stretched out on a bench and added 10 push-ups and 20 dips while I was at it. I feel better mentally and physically that I did it, and it only took me 3 hours to get going.

This weekend we have Hurricane Irene to look forward to. Whoopie! I’m already wondering how that is going to affect Saturday’s long run.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

