Irene, I run

It was a modern miracle I got out of the house today let alone run 8.7 miles. Not without problems though. I woke up super cranky, Matt and I weren’t on the same page all morning which lead to a little tiff, I felt every bit of the run from the beginning to the end, with only a small part in the middle where nothing was wrong. That middle part was probably because of so much to see with the city preparing for hurricane Irene. If it wasn’t for me being smack in the middle of training I wasn’t going to run.

Obviously everyone had the same idea though, especially before the Hurricane because it was a madhouse the entire time. So many more people out than normal on a Saturday morning and it wasn’t just other runners (who all seemed to annoy the Hell out of Matthew). There were people walking dogs, people with baby strollers, people in general. It was difficult at times because of people jams. But I’m sure people were trying to fit in some fresh air before getting stuck in the house for two or so days. Plus, there is stuff to see out there today.

I always run the Baltimore waterfront so I knew I’d see something in respect to Hurricane preparation. I knew I’d see houses and waterfront businesses sandbagged, but I wasn’t expecting people gathered around humongous piles of sand, large Coast Guard vessels in Fells Point and tons of giant Navy boats in the Inner Harbor. All under dark and cloudy skies it was a pretty ominous run. Top that with the fact that we beat the rain by 10 minutes it’s obvious something’s a coming.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

