I’m only human

As you have noticed, I am missing a blog post this week. And, if you have been keeping up with this at all, you know I didn’t run my scheduled 10 miles on Saturday. It’s been a weird week for me and the rain hasn’t been helping at all. Plus, the Sept 11th Memorial crap is driving me up a wall and bringing me down mentally and, well, I just haven’t been feeling it. Thursday morning’s spin was the first decent class I had all week, but it still took me 10 minutes into it to get out of my head. Same goes for today’s Body Pump which ended up being a lot fun. I just haven’t been my usual perky, funny self. I’m my meatball sub on the couch watching E! self. With a martini this time. At 9 am.

Tomorrow we’ll be on the Eastern Shore and the plan is to run on those country roads I hate so much. The route we mapped out (not leaving that one to Matt again) isn’t the 10 miles I need, but it is a bit over 8 miles and that should be ok. I know I have to run, because Elizabeth pointed it out to me more than once today so I guess I need to buck up, lace my shoes and get the hell out the door. It really is crunch time at this point and I can’t come up with anymore excuses to not run. It won’t help me in the end.

The sad thing is I haven’t been feeling bad about it and feel like I should. But in the locker room yesterday, when asked about my training I sheepishly shrugged my shoulders and said, “I was bad.” To which one of the other regulars said, “You weren’t bad, you were human.” Here’s to being human.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

