I Bonked, therefore I am (an idiot)

I officially bonked today, or as some say, “Hit the Wall.” I had never experienced it before but I figured out what it was. What I don’t know is what caused it and that is something I have to rectify fast because the Half-Marathon is only one month away. Plus, my mom, aunt and cousin are coming to cheer me on and I definitely don’t want to have to be carried over the finish line in front of my cheering section.

I really needed a good strong run today too. My Saturday run on the Eastern Shore was a disaster. (I like to breathe and not worry about being hit by a car or having to jump over copperheads, etc.). My last good run was actually a couple of weeks ago and I felt like a good run today would get me back on track with my training. Did I mention I have a month? A MONTH!!! I can’t be futzing around at this point.

I actually started out really strong today (potato with coffee for breakfast, took a GU Gel) and I did well for the most part until about 4.5 miles into the run when I felt myself slowing down. I was surprised at how much I was slowing down and how rapidly, but I got all green lights up Ann Street so I just kept running. When I turned right up Lombard Street, it was like my legs didn’t want to move anymore; exactly like I ran out of gas. By the time I hit the 5 mile mark my legs were barely moving, barely lifting, like I was running in cement. Actually cement would have felt better. After another half of a mile, uphill no less, and just shy of a half a mile from home I quit. I couldn’t do it. My body wouldn’t run. I bonked.

After that I barely made it home, my face all purple and those weird chill things I got when I ran my first long run. I have no clue what I did wrong today but there is no way in hell I want a run like that during the actual race.

On a positive note though, my team t-shirt is in and it fits. Plus, I’ve already raised $50 for the hospital (Thanks Elizabeth and Katherine). In case anyone is curious, Matt and I are running for the University of Maryland Children’s Heart Program (note: he works for the hospital). Below is my team page.

http://www.ummsfoundation.org/Page.aspx?pid=468&frsid=3856

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

