It’s crunch time folks (crunchy peanut butter that is)

I woke up yesterday morning in a panic. I haven’t had a decent run since Hurricane Irene and I have a month to prove to myself I can run the 13.1 miles. Top that with the fact that people with injuries are surrounding me (take note Eddie), plus a story a friend told me about a woman last year who hit the Howard Street bridge and put her hands in the air and yelled, “I’m done!” and you know why  I’ve been freaking out. I mean, really friggin freaked! That bridge is something like 2 miles from the finish line and she quit. I usually have Matthew with me on long runs to push me at the end and he won’t be there. I have to, as Scarlett O’hara said, rely on the goodness of strangers at that point.  And that scares the hell out of me. I know everyone tells me the crowd will push me. And I get that. I get that once in the zone, once in the realm of excitement I’ll just go. I’ll just ignore everything and go, except I’ve never experienced that.

That is, until today. Yup folks, I ran 10. 57 miles and could have kept going! 10.57 miles in a hour and 55 minutes and I still had some steam left in me—though my right knee was about shot and the pain in my left hip flexor was getting to me—but I had the fuel which makes me feel good. It means I might have what it takes to finish the 13 miles after all. And whatever I did today, well and yesterday for that matter,  is everything I am doing for the next Friday and Saturdays until Oct. 14 and 15th. Friday I had a sandwich for lunch and a sandwich for dinner (I read all about carbo loading thank you). This morning, I had a cup of coffee, then around 8:15 am, a whole grain waffle with crunchy peanut butter and honey, after that I took two ibuprofen and a multi-vitamin and then around 9ish we had another cup of coffee and a half of a banana.  And then I ran, and ran, and kept running. And even 6 miles into it I didn’t feel the need for the GU gel, but I knew I had 4 more miles to go so I took it anyway and not until we hit Rash Field in the Inner Harbor (around the 8- mile-mark) did I really start to feel the pain. And you know what? Matt felt it too! I shouldn’t be happy about that. Happy that my husband and I felt pain around the same time, but I’m weird so yeah, I was super giddy to know we were on the same page. I never experienced that either. And when it was over, for the first time since I started this whole crazy thing, I felt good about the run. I felt pride instead of pain.

If I can keep this up I can do it. I’ve got this hands down so keep sending all those good vibes you’ve been sending my way because they are working. Well that and the peanut butter and honey, but the good vibes too.  So like on Romper Room, I will hold up the “Magic Mirror” to you and thank all of my friends in “televisionland”, saying, “I can see Matt and Elizabeth and Eddie and Dan and Katherine and Antonio and Christine” and so on.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s crunch time folks (crunchy peanut butter that is)

  1. Christine says:

    I’m last? gee thanks. 😛

Leave a Reply

