When to taper the training

"GUuuuuuuuu gels......"

I decided to go for a shorter run than normal today. Besides the fact that it was raining, I all together thought it would be better to stick closer to home in case I had any problems. My knee is still continually locking on me and my shoulders keep stiffening up. Add to that the fact that I didn’t even make it out the door on Saturday without instant pain I just couldn’t tell how it was going to be.

I chose to run around Patterson Park and when I realized I was going to be ok, I extended the workout to include the inside of the park as well (approximately 4.5 miles.) It wasn’t easy but that is because there are so many hills which is fine by me. The more hill training the better I’ll be on race day. All in all it was a pretty good run and for a moment it was nice because I was the only person around (until I got to the duck pond where the vibe was a little Zombies are in the woods Apocolyptic.)

Here’s the thing though, I’m not dumb, these aches and pains, the fatigue, the crankiness it’s all signs of overtraining. I know this because I read it in Runner’s World today, “Check Yourself: Avoid common overtraining traps by paying attention to your body’s warning signs.” I suspected it though and so have other people. As I read the article I was pretty much checking off the list of symptoms, “Yup, yup and yup!” So how do I make it through the next two and half weeks and still workout? I went down on my leg weight in Body Pump on Monday and chose Zumba over spin yesterday, but I think I need to taper off even more than that. Maybe swim or do yoga (which I’m not a huge fan of).

This Saturday will be my last long run until the actual race so I need this to be good, but I need to take care of my body too. I’m taking off the Saturday before the Half Marathon and plan to only to do a couple of small runs during the week, ones just like today. Here’s to hoping and praying I pull this off, don’t freak out, that it doesn’t rain and the weather is perfect. That’s not too much to ask is it?

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When to taper the training

  1. Annetta Killian says:

    Hey Jeanne-Michele! I am so impressed that you are doing the half marathon. Though I am not as brave as you in the running department, I have spent the last couple months getting certified in group fitness, spin and water aerobics. If there’s a class around you, you should try a water aerobics class. I know, it doesn’t look like it’s a great workout, and you will be surrounded by sweet old ladies, but it alleviates the pressure on your joints and gives a great resistance to the aerobic workout. Just thought I would offer the suggestion so you have an alternative in your training. Good luck in the marathon! I will be thinking of you!

    • Thanks Annetta! I’ll say this, if I can run you can run. I’m amazed at far I’ve come when I would hyperventilate after a half mile. As for the water you are totally right. I was thinking of switching out my spin classes for the pool over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

