Race Ready? Maybe.

Well it’s two weeks until the Half-Marathon and I’m still on the fence about how ready I am for it. Admittedly, I ran 11 miles yesterday, but it wasn’t an easy 11 miles and I was in so much pain toward the end it wasn’t even funny. My knee started to lock up on me, my instep was screaming and my hip flexor was on fire and the burn eventually moved into my side and lower back.  When I got home I had ice packs all over the place.  Then I had to take a super long Epsom salt bath.

Granted, I have been dealing with some injuries of late and I have been finding ways to taper down my workouts because of it (as I wrote last time.) My plan is to swim more over the next two weeks and I hope that should help. Plus, I won’t be working out this Friday and nothing next Thursday and Friday; I’m taking spin and Zumba off the table as well. And then there is an important fact Matt pointed out to me, that the race will be on the road and his theory of why everything gets set off and hurts is things like me jumping up and off curbs, the one set of steps we have to run up, the cobblestone and brick we have to run on in certain parts. All of those things that puts pressure on my joints and muscles that won’t exist during the race. And GOD do I hope that’s true.

I did everything I right as I could. On Friday, I ate my 6” Turkey and Black Forest Ham Subway sub with all of the vegetables (which I’m convinced is the magical source of my better runs). On Saturday, I had half of a banana, peanut butter with honey on whole grain bread with a glass of chocolate milk, plus I took my vitamins and ibuprofen. I had my GU gel for the middle of the run. Past that I don’t know what else I could do other than pray I make my 13.1 miles and people get to see me cross the finish line in one piece.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

