Lady in waiting

It is 9 days until the Half Marathon. I got my Runner’s Handbook yesterday and let me just say this shit is real. I’ve tapered off like I’m supposed to, especially due to injuries, and let me say another thing, I’m going bonkers. I’m not used to working out this little and after reading that Runner’s Handbook I’m freaking out. Having no outlet is maddening. Let’s not ignore the fact that because I haven’t been working out as much as normal I feel real doughy.

I know most people are looking forward to the race, but I’m at the point where I want it over and done with. I hope my mind changes the moment I hit that start line, but at this moment it’s starting to feel like a chore and an inconvenience. I have to work out differently, I have to work out less; I have to eat differently, I have to drink less.  I kind of want my life back.

And then there is the fear of what if I don’t do it? What if I don’t accomplish the 13.1 miles and it was all for nothing. That fear lingers with me a lot lately. I have other fears about the race but I don’t have to go into those as I’m sure they are similar fears of a lot of people  like fear of rain.

I know there are a lot of people out there supporting me and I appreciate and need that because I think that’ll be the real fuel that pushes me to complete this task. Of course, I’m doing this for me, but I’m doing it for you too. You’ve been with me since the beginning so please keep sending those good vibes along and let’s collectively pray all goes well.  After that we can raise our glasses and say cheers!

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lady in waiting

  1. Christine says:

    I will be at the race to cheer you on, and I’ll be at the finish line to congratulate you!!

Leave a Reply

