The downside to a Half-Marathon high

I’m actually pretty depressed today. I’ve been too tired or in too much in pain to notice anything else, but today, it’s hitting me. It’s all over.  I spent six months writing this blog, training for the race and a week prepping for the big day; spent a weekend, completely overtaken by it all. And now it’s gone. I figured this would happen, figured I’d have some sort of down period after riding that high but that doesn’t make it any easier.

Sunday after my family left I spent the day passing out on the couch. I won’t call it napping because it was the kind of sleep beyond my control at that point — the kind of exhaustion where you could barely lift your head.  Monday, after an hour and a half of Eddie’s “Rip and Ride” (I had mad amounts of lactic acid that needed to push out) I slept a straight 12 hours that night. Yesterday, I spent the day resting my knee. And today? Today, I guess is be depressed day. The rain doesn’t help my mood either, though I doubt I’m the only person to experience this.  Being that this is the first time I have done the A to Z of a Half-Marathon, I’m still in learning mode. This is just the downside of when it’s over. I bet tomorrow after a morning spin class I’ll be back to my normal self.

I just need to get through this, recover and get back into a new routine. I know I need to strengthen my hip to help with my knees.  I also know I need to build up my weights again if I’m going to get certified to teach Body Pump so that’s something too. But I need something else, something to look forward to or work toward, something to keep writing about. I’ll figure out or Eddie will figure it out or someone will offer some sort of suggestion. As I’ve been resting my knee to heal it, today I’m just going to take it easy and rest my heart.

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

