Kneed to heal soon (get it?)

Since the Half-marathon has ended I sort of lost my way (a little). Part of it that is, “Hands up I’m done!”, the other stems from the knee injury that derailed me. I spent the latter part of the month nursing the leg, taking it easy in classes and waiting for the pain to ease, the strain to lessen. Until Thanksgiving Morning when I decided to run 4 miles. I was feeling strong, my leg normal and it was a beautiful day. Plus isn’t that what you do, run Thanksgiving morning? I thought it was some sort of tradition.

Well of course what do I do, but re-engage the injury. I’m obviously not going to stop working out, but would you believe…GASP…get this…I miss running. I know, I know!!!! Me! I miss it. I told this to Matt and I think I saw him get a bit teary-eyed but that could have just been the pain in the back of my knee. I mean, Tuesday night in Spin class I thought I saw someone take a picture because I swear I saw a camera flash but was then told that never happened so maybe the tear didn’t occur either.

The reason I need to work out.

Other than oddly enjoying the occasional run, nothing has slimed me down the way running has. And I refuse to get doughy again, which is very easy for me (hello beer [extra hello to Loose Cannon]). I told Matt I might take to the treadmill since it’s easier on the knees than concrete but of course I got the stink eye at that suggestion.

Let’s face it I’m not the first person to be derailed by an injury. Eddie is preparing for a body building competition in February and he got walking pneumonia his first week of training. My friend Ty broke his hand in the beginning of the Extreme Brickover challenge. Heck, Lance Armstrong got testicular cancer and he kept riding, so that’s not really the issue. I’m just pissed and impatient.

With that said, after some research I devised a rehab program for my leg.  Basically, everything I have read says I need to strengthen my hips so with a game plan I took to the weight room yesterday. I worked 3 sets of 12 (one leg at a time) on the leg extension machines and instantly started to feel better. After the abductor machines, I rounded out the routine with some Single-leg Bridges, 30-second side planks, more hamstring stretches, ab work, two sets of 10 push-ups on the Bosu ball and tricep dips. That was just one half an hour, just one day and I actually ended up having the best spin class this morning. So I think I’m onto something. I just need to stick with it and be patient. I will be back to my old self soon enough as long as I am smart about it.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Holiday Weight Gain, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kneed to heal soon (get it?)

  1. edevaughn says:

    Teamwork!!!
    We stick together. You’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

