Don’t put all your eggs in one basket

Just as I was starting to mend and step it back up with my workouts, things have become… derailed. Last week Eddie, my good friend and mentor and the only instructor whose classes I took, well resigned. Without getting gossipy, he had every right to do so considering how management was treating him.  But it’s left me in the dark on how to move forward, depressing to say the least.  Of course on Monday, I woke up with a nasty cold so I haven’t even had a chance to figure a new routine.

With Eddie, Katherine and Mya

I decided to try the Thursday afternoon spin class. Matt went in the morning and said it was so awful and depressing that he almost wanted to cry. The afternoon instructor I will say had good energy, I liked her enough, but she wasn’t great at giving guidance. I need to know at least what gear I’m supposed to be. It was like going to a new gym even though I recognized everyone in class (except the instructor).

Yesterday was BodyPump, which is normally the most packed class of the week. Another regular instructor taught it so it was nice to see a familiar face but, strangely, the “franchise” proprietor was in attendance.  She gave some half-assed fake heartfelt speech and then stuck around and worked out with us (sort of).  So great, thanks honey, add insult to injury and give me the most self-conscious workout of my life.

I’ve been chatting with some of the other gals in the gym: Katherine, Mya, Elizabeth, we’re thinking of creating our own circuit thing. Eddie sent me a week’s worth of a workout and I hear rumors of Suzanne doing a morning bootcamp.  Not sure if it’s rogue or not though.

I don’t really know why I’m freaking out over this. It’s not my first time at the rodeo, I know enough to create a workout plan or push it in less than stellar classes (did I mention I can do pushups on the Bosu ball?). I guess I’m just a creature of habit and I’m simply not happy that my routine has been obliterated by stupidity. But it’s taught me something important– it doesn’t matter if someone is certified in something.  It doesn’t make them a good instructor. In fact, working by Eddie’s side and seeing what makes a great instructor, makes me realize that it is a rare thing. You have to appreciate it when it comes along, because apparently anyone with a check and a half-assed sense of rhythm can be an instructor.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

