Have you hugged your great instructor today?

Eddie, Fitness Magician

As mentioned in my last post, Eddie left the gym. He’s doing well and has already landed on his feet and I couldn’t be happier for him. But for those of us left behind it’s a train wreck. I know I mentioned the bad instructors last week, but this Monday was a most massive of crash and burn.

The instructor filled in for what was Eddie’s “Rip and Ride,” one half an hour of spin, followed directly by BodyPump. My biggest complaint about the instructor, was well, she seemed to forget to instruct us. And yes, I know she said it’s been a while since she had to teach BodyPump, but I would think you would remember the one main thing that is in your exact title, ie: Instructor. Do not spend most of your time futzing with your headphone or ipod or hand bag. Don’t spend most of the time in the back of the room focusing on one new student and –this is important – definitely, definitely, definitely do not forget to tell us what the F**K we are supposed to be doing. Half the class was up when the other half was down. Others stood around in confusion and a small fight even broke out among two regulars.

To add insult to injury, this person had the audacity to correct my form but not telling me what I was doing wrong in the first place. She just stood behind me angrily and held onto my elbows which made no sense. I’m not opposed to being told if I’m doing something wrong, but please be able to articulate the problem. She even refused to start push-ups until everyone was on the floor and called out a member for not hurrying up. If you are sub never coming back, that’s just rude. And do you want to know why I know she was never coming back? Because she told us. How professional? People have been talking about the class all week.

But seeing just how difficult it is to be a great instructor (heck even a good instructor) and just how easy it is to be a lousy one, it’s really made me rethink what I’m capable of. Suddenly I’m thinking of things to teach I never thought of before because I have such a high standard of instructor quality. But if these people are what is out there, then I think I’d be pretty good at this instructor game. I mean, I know it’ll take time to find a groove. People will probably complain about my style, but geez.  I’d have to be better than some of these instructors. At least I know how to count.

The saving grace in all of this is the other spin instructor, Vicki. On Tuesday, I jokingly begged her not to leave us. I had to suffer under a week and a half of no Eddie and would you believe I started to get doughy again. And then this week, two classes with Vicki and I’ve slimmed back down. That right there my friends is why you need to appreciate the great instructors when you have them.

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Fitness, Holiday Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have you hugged your great instructor today?

  1. Eddie says:

    You will make a fantastic Instructor! You were taught by one of the best in the Industry!
    Your Fitness Magic is infectious.
    We love Vicki!

Leave a Reply

