Resolution Time!

Well it’s that time of the year when everyone and their mother decide to start fresh and get healthy, which means there are butt loads of people in shiny new running shoes with bad form and every piece of equipment at the gym is taken up by people who don’t know what they are doing. For us die-hards we just need to hold out until the middle of February where the masses of idiots will drop off.

Yesterday, I walked to the grocery store and saw more people running at 4 in the afternoon than I did at the 10-week mark before the Running Festival. It was actually quite comical and then when I got the store the produce section was empty! I got one of the last remaining bags of salad.  I don’t begrudge people the desire to get healthy I just find it funny how many people just decide that the New Year suddenly means they need to change their lives and by the middle of February the gym is pretty much the same people that were there in November.

But it’s not like I can’t relate.  It’s time to get my ass back in gear as well. With Eddie leaving and the holidays, I slacked off and slacked off hard, which, in all honesty isn’t the worst thing. Sure, I’m a little doughy and didn’t do myself any favors since everything exercise-wise will feel like I’m starting from scratch, but I got to rest and I’m ready to start working hard again.

I have a lot on my plate this year and while I’m glad to have that, I need to get ready. My best friend Jenn who lives in Atlanta has decided she’s coming to Baltimore in October and will run the Half-Marathon with me. Upon hearing that, my other very dear friend Heather who lives in Queens is thinking about joining us. I’m excited about the possible blog posts with that dynamic -three great ladies, three completely different cities. It should be interesting. Plus, my plan is to get certified in something this year. I don’t have money but I can’t sit on the fence anymore. This year it needs to get done.

That was supposed to start today but that plan was derailed. Mya and I were supposed to do our own little bootcamp before Vickie’s spin class but there was a TRX class going on that wasn’t supposed to be going on.  We designed a routine, Mya came up with a play list and we were all ready to hit the ground running but instead we milled around for a half an hour looking lost. Hopefully we can try again next Tuesday.

Thankfully there was still the (highly packed) spin class followed by abs so it wasn’t all a loss. But it’s time for a new routine and to find a groove.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Holiday Weight Gain, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution Time!

  1. Eddie says:

    Love u much Money Mya!

  2. We love you too Eddie!

Leave a Reply

