Don’t leave gym for more than two weeks: EVER!!!

As you all know I’ve been dragging my feet lately and yesterday was my first real BodyPump class in a month. Even though I was smart(ish) enough to go lower in weights it would seem I didn’t go low enough.  I was shaking by the back track, my legs were shaking during lunges and I had to actually stop a few times during biceps. Push-ups? Forget about it. Today as I write this, my quads and glutes are feeling less than stellar (ie: they hurt like all get out, ie: hurt as in every time I stand…explicatives and OWWWWW!!!!).

Don’t even get me started on the failed 100 burpees in 100 days challenge. It’s January 7 and I’ve done I think 4 (plus trying them in socks is mistake). I’m not off to a good start on that. Oh, and Vickie’s 25 sit-ups a night with one extra each night hasn’t even been a thought.

But yesterday was a bit of an embarrassment for me since BodyPump is my thing and the thing everyone expects me to get certified in. I would have been ok with slacking off a little yesterday (first day back in a month and all) if it wasn’t for the fact that: 1) Kim has officially taken over for Eddie and Kim knows me so she wasn’t letting me slack. 2) She put a new member next to me for guidance and I was dying. I was not a very good example to say the least.

If I have learned anything, a month away from BodyPump is way too long. I think the general rule is that your body will only hold onto the muscle/strength for two to three weeks, after that it’s like starting from scratch. Yeah, I went way beyond that point. Sure, I was doing cardio once or twice a week, but I’m obviously not as strong as I was before the holidays.

Not that I can’t get back there. I promised Kim by Friday of next week I’ll complain a lot less (did I mention all of the complaining I did yesterday? Yeah big shocker there.) But I realize I have a long way to go. Before the Half-Marathon I was on par with some of the woman in class —Mya, Katherine, Super G — and yesterday I looked over at Mya and realized I have a long road ahead of me to get up to that point. I’m just flat out surpassed by these girls. Not that I’m not up to the challenge, but damn girls. Stop being so strong, it’s cramping my style.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Holiday Weight Gain, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

