Fitness Apocalypse(ish)

Mya, Myself and Katherine

After weeks of discussing and attempting to create our own mini bootcamp, Mya and I finally tried it yesterday. The conclusion on our Fitness Apocalypse: Not very apocalyptic. It wasn’t even a fender bender. It turns out for all of our talk, we didn’t really think about it hard enough. It didn’t help that I forgot the list we came up, but it was really just a list of things we like. There was no actually routine, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

We knew the first time we tried this it would be awkward, but as Mya put it, we giggled a hell of a lot less than both of us anticipated (which I see as a sign of us being serious, well serious for us, we still giggled).  Despite no real plan we started with jumping jacks, then burpees, dips, wall sits, ivy crosses, water break, kicks of some sort, etc.  We were just sort of throwing things out there but after 15 minutes we were sweating and our heart rate was up. As we ran through these basics we started to see what moves actually work together and with what music. When we started to really discuss our Fitness Apocalypse further we began to formulate a real routine (still in progress though). We’ve both been doing this long enough that we know we can come up with something fun and beneficial to our workouts. Plus if other people join in like Nicole and Katherine the routine can only grow and get better.

I know personally it’s time to get my ass back in gear (as mentioned a million times), but more so now than before. I found out yesterday the next audition for group instructors is next month. Not only do I need to learn (and nail) two Body Pump tracks but I’d like to at least feel like I look the part. There’s a lot of pressure (personal) on what I can accomplish in a month and half. I’m not saying I can’t do it because I know I can, I just know there is a lot of hard work ahead of me and the time to slack is over. It’s go time!

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

