R.E.S.P.E.C.T

One thing I haven’t really addressed in this blog is gym etiquette. I’d say that it’s probably because I rarely have any trouble with anyone and for the most part the good people at Brick Bodies are polite and respectful of each other. But admittedly there is one person in particular who I’ve found myself annoyed with in the past (let’s call them Q). I only bring it up now because it almost got nasty yesterday and it made me want to remind people of the importance of respect in the gym, especially in group fitness classes.

Don't be the Gym Sleestak.

Of course there are the basic rules:  wiping down the machines after use, not to make too many weird noises (I’m looking at you Mr. Sleestak in spin), don’t shave your legs in the bathroom sink, put a towel under your naked ass in the steam room, etc. But I’d say the number one rule is respecting your fellow gym goers. You are not the only person working out, you are not the only person in the class and you cannot act like your actions do not affect those around you.

A big bone of contention is the standing fan. I hate it, others hate, but Q and Q only insists it being on despite the fact that on numerous occasions it’s been pointed out that it’s a distraction. The other problem with the fan fanatic (get it?) is they insist on the most inconvenient spot for everyone around them. Instead of taking a corner in front of the fan, they insist on being quasi in the middle and then drag the fan close to them; generally in between people’s steps. Yesterday it was directly in front of me. Not only do I hate the feeling of the fan on me (I actually like to sweat) but I couldn’t see myself in the mirror. The first time I mentioned that I didn’t want the fan in front of me, Q ignored me and actually repositioned in more in front of me. When I say the fan was in front of me I mean the fan was smack dab in front of me. So for a second time, I politely asked if I could move it because it was distracting and I was received with a nasty reply of, “GO TO THE BACK OF THE ROOM THEN!!!!” And it was loud and people turned to look and see what was going on.

Out of respect of the class and the instructor I dropped the incident when I really wanted to drop kick Q. I find this behavior highly rude and inconsiderate; she is not the only person in the room. I would have gladly traded places with her so she could have had the fan on her, but I was the one who was supposed to move, not her. How does one work with that?

The selfish and the stubbornness of Q has in fact caused trouble with other patrons in the past as well and we are all regulars. Everyone knows everyone at this point. I remember an incident when one of the Maxine’s set up in the spot Q likes to be in. When Maxine went to the locker room to change, Q moved her stuff because it was in her way. Of course when Maxine came in the room to find out she had no spot a fight broke out. And rightfully so! No one has to right to move another person’s stuff once set up.

I know Q is old, but that is no excuse. She has options but refuses to take them. I understand people are creatures of habit, especially in the gym. We all have “Our” locker, “Our” spot, “Our” bike, but sometimes you have to be willing to adapt. No one actually owns any of these things.  That is something we constantly need to remind ourselves.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R.E.S.P.E.C.T

  1. Eddie says:

    I truly understand what you are talking about! You did the right things….address the issue and let it be.

Leave a Reply

