And so it begins (fitness certification here I come)

God grant me the strength to make it through this year. I have officially thrown my hat in the ring and will audition to be a Body Pump instructor next month. I would like to get certified in other things eventually, but at the moment I’m tackling one thing at a time. There is just too much on my plate right now.

Let’s not forget I have my girl’s talking Half-Marathon in October, which I’ll eventually have to start training for again. Jenn is definitely coming from Atlanta, Heather is strongly pondering it, and now Jenn’s sister Jill is thinking of joining us.

It’s only January and I already have to nail down a rocking new gym routine, give advice on Half-Marathon training and memorize (and rock) a Body Pump routine;  my brain feels like it’s going to explode.

Thankfully I’ve had gentle reminders this week that I’m still stronger than I think (or remember).

Tuesday, I took a great demo bootcamp with the awesome Suzanne (of which I’m doing again tomorrow). There were these two young guys who wanted to quit but supposedly Katherine and I forced them to save face and stay. It probably explains why they didn’t look to happy to see me in CXWORX this morning. When the instructor told us to take a medium weight for an overhead press, Katherine smiled at me and basically said, “Not for us,” and we both grabbed the big ones. Super G even yelled, “Really guys!” The poor boys looked at each other, exasperatedly bowed their heads and shuffled back to the weights to grab a big one.

We talked about this in the locker room this morning and this woman sighed with a chuckle and said, “I’m SOOOO glad to know that. I’ve looked in the classes, seen you two and have been afraid to go in.” We’re not trying to show off or make anyone feel bad, we just happen to be in training to become instructors.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so it begins (fitness certification here I come)

  1. Stefanie says:

    Good luck, JM! You’re going to be a kick-ass instructor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

