Work Hard or Go Home could lead you to stay home

Yesterday, I took Suzanne’s 7:00 am Bootcamp, hung around at the local coffee shop for a few of hours and went back to the gym for a half an hour of spin, followed by an hour of Body Pump. For the next five weeks, Mondays and Fridays, that’ll be my routine. Only in physicality and strength though. Everything else I did yesterday, I did wrong and it was mainly in the form of not properly fueling myself or replenishing my electrolytes.

And you know what? I should damn well know better. I had Greek yogurt, a hardboiled egg and a balance bar after class, all things that made me feel fine, are high in protein and got me through Body Pump. My plan was to turn around, go home and eat there. As long as you eat within an hour of exercise you’re fine. Except, I don’t know how to not run my mouth off, and two hours after class, I’m still in the locker room and starting to feel light headed. So I decided to go to Potbelly and get a TKY since they’re small and inexpensive, but I barely even made it there.

Matt’s office is nearby and when he came to check on me he said I had no color in my face and I pretty much felt like there was no color in my face. It wasn’t until the sandwich finally hit my system that I perked  back up and had the energy to make it home, where I had a lovely bean soup for dinner.  I chatted with Kim and Eddie about fuel for a day like that and they said I need more protein and probably a protein shake in addition to whole foods. Makes sense, lesson learned.

Except that wasn’t the end of it. I woke up this morning sore (which I figured would be the case) and decided to take Body Flow today instead of spin. I had my normal amount of coffee, 3 bottles of water and chicken soup (homemade) with an egg on top. While packing my bag for the gym though I suddenly felt ill and had to sit down. A huge pressure was on my eyes, my jaw started to tighten, my heart beat changed and I had a sneezing fit. My guess was I was suffering from an electrolyte imbalance or dehydration except I didn’t have any Gatorade in the house. But then out of nowhere it hit me that I have pickle juice in the fridge and so down to the kitchen I went, pulled out a shot glass, poured it full with pickle juice and gulped it down. Not the best tasting stuff no matter how much one loves pickles, but it worked. It absolutely worked! Within seconds my eyes eased up, my jaw loosened and my heart beat went normal. I did a second shot just in case then walked to the store for a Gatorade and Coca Cola (something my mother-in-law said is good for handling quick dehydration). I’m much better now.

I am mad at myself for not being better prepared for a day like yesterday. I was obsessive over this exact thing when it came to training for the half-marathon last year and totally acted like a moron this time around. I know better than that. I was so caught up in beating the boys, in saving face in front of the class in Body Pump that I really didn’t think about my own needs. I didn’t really think about anything.

Now, I know for a fact I’m going to get a lot of comments on this (looking at you Elizabeth and Eddie), but I promise I will never be that dumb again. I should have never been that dumb in the first place. I’m looking at it is as a learning experience. I just said to Matt (who has decided to run his first full-marathon this year) not every run will be great, not everything you do will work, but learn from those mistakes, and just don’t do them again.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Work Hard or Go Home could lead you to stay home

  1. Eddie says:

    Will NEVER called you dumb. You learned a valuable lesson in Macronutrient (optimal combination of protein, carbohydrates and fats). And the law of calorie balance/metabolic individuality.

  2. KZ says:

    I’m no stranger to this. Its completely unintentional, but sometimes life gets in the way and you don’t fuel enough or soon enough. I’ve gotten in the habit of carrying trail mix with me everywhere. The combination of nuts and dried fruit helps until I can eat a real meal. Put some in a tupperware container and keep it in your gym bag. Helps a lot!

Leave a Reply

