Sometimes the worst pressure we deal with is the pressure we put on ourselves

Training for the audition.

The Body Pump training audition was this past Sunday and the good news is that I passed. I’m happy but also a little surprised since the last two weeks and Sunday in particular were physically and emotionally draining.

I have been debating for a couple of weeks if I wanted to post the emotional turmoil I had put upon myself. Generally, in fitness we’re supposed to be happy go lucky people brimming with positivity. I was far from that.

That's me in the back smiling during one-legged dips.

My issue wasn’t with being unprepared, I stopped being excited about the audition, heck even working out in general. I know a part of an instructor’s job is to fake that in front of the class, I just couldn’t figure out how to pull it off and each day got worse than the last. I hate being judged and I was afraid my usual positive personality wasn’t going to come out. I was freaking out to the point where I thought about backing out of the whole thing more than once.

Thankfully, Sunday I woke up in a good mood. Sure I was nervous, but I was positive and I think that was my saving grace. I also made sure I dressed the part because I knew if I felt like I looked good I would actually feel good (thanks for the red fleece Elizabeth). It was a small group of people auditioning, about 10 people in all, mostly dance, a Body Combat audition and two spin people. They put us Body Pumpers in the middle so I was able to blow off some steam with other people’s routines, but I wasn’t last (they cut that poor girl off mid-routine). It was a good group and everyone seemed to be in positive spirits. I had a hard time not shaking during my routine since I was clearly nervous, but I didn’t let it get in the way of my cues or form. I even got cheered on when I was doing my push-ups.

I’m proud of myself, not just for passing the audition, I worked hard for that, but that I pushed past adversity, got in front of a group of strangers nervous as all get out and put myself out there. That is not an easy thing to do, and looking cute and strong while doing it. But I did it and get to move onto training now. When that’ll be I’m not sure, but I think the hardest part is over.

 

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes the worst pressure we deal with is the pressure we put on ourselves

  1. Thanks Eddie! I couldn’t have done it without you.

Leave a Reply

