Time to kick it in gear

The weather is getting better, especially with our unusually early spring, so that means it’s time to start getting back outside. I keep thinking I’m going to return to some sort of a running schedule, but it’s been difficult to get up and out of the house. My motivation level is pretty low (for running). I think I’ve gone running four, maybe five times since October.

Today I decided to suck it up and just go. Not being properly fueled didn’t help my cause (I should know better), but I’d say there were two bigculprits for why I had a bad run. The first was the wind. An intense, it feels like someone is trying to push you back wind. The kind of wind that messed my hair up so bad that every guy I ran past looked at my head with a raised eyebrow. The other problem was women with baby carriages. Lots and lots of baby carriages. The worst was the gang of THREE WOMEN…IN A ROW…WITH BABY CARRIAGES…ON THE BOARDWALK!!! I didn’t even have a shot of getting around them so I decided to call it quits.

It’s not that I haven’t been working out. I not only have Body Pump but had been training for the audition for instructor certification (now just to find a training). I was mixing that with Suzanne’s morning Bootcamp, on the same day. But that is coming to an end, and while I will miss my Terror Squad crew, my body can use the break and use to move onto something else. As the five weeks have moved on, I have had a lot fun, but the intensity of the two back-to-back workouts has left me pulverized. I haven’t felt this beat up since I was training for the half marathon.

Plus it’ll be nice to not smell like Icy Hot for a while. That menthol smell makes me feel old, like I should be stealing batteries and yelling at teenagers from a lawn chair.

There is also the fact that Matt has decided to run his first full marathon this year and he’s going to need a running coach (ie me) so it’d be bad form to not run with him. At least part of the way that is, no way in hell I’m running more than 13.1 miles.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

