Mental drain is just as bad as physical strain, we all need a break

As most of you have noticed (those of you who read this blog at least), I’ve been absent for the past few weeks. I haven’t had much to write about though because I haven’t been doing much. Well, that’s not exactly true; last month was my birthday so I was doing things, just not healthy things. And let me clarify, it wasn’t that my birthday happened to be one day last month; it was my “Birthday Month”. Sadly, it’s not like I haven’t had plenty of things to do over the past three weeks.

Me and Mr. Boh finishing out my Birthday Month. I was so tired I had to wear my glasses. Nuff said.

As it would turn out, the most recent weekend to attend the Body Pump training was the exact weekend of my birthday. I already had my best friend Jenn flying up from Atlanta, and my mother threw me a big party, because in my family, it’s a rite of passage that when you turn 40 you have a soiree in Bloomfield, New Jersey (seemingly a good central location for all to reach).

Yesterday, I attended Vicki’s spin class for the first time in two weeks and can I tell you it was the most nauseating class I’ve had. Today, I attempted a run, but I’m not sure oatmeal works for me pre-run because I had to cut things short and run straight home. Hey, at least I ran somewhere.

The first bounty of the season from the Baltimore Farmer's Market (Voted number in the country by the way).

But, regardless of me being behind on getting Body Pump certified, or the fact that I’ve gotten a tad doughy and less strong, and well that I need to fuel myself better for runs, eat better, oh and back off of booze and take out (I digress), I’m ready; ready to get my groove back and take my place in the spotlight again (if I had a spotlight). I don’t know about anyone else, but I tend to burn out, on, well, basically anything I do too much of. I didn’t realize I needed a break from the gym until it I realized I didn’t miss the gym. But I’m ready to start training again, to get back into really good runs, and hopefully certified to teach (if I can find a damn local training, Newark, Delaware, really? I’ll wait.) And with the Baltimore’s Farmer’s Market officially opened, I’m ready to start cooking with great local ingredients.  Reset button hit. Huzzah!!!

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Fitness, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

