“I am Money, hear me roar!” And why everyone needs a good workout nickname

When you have a long, odd name such as mine, people are going to call you whatever they want and basically, I’ve bowed down to that, it’s just easier that way. It’s a surprise I’m not more schizophrenic based on the large amount of nicknames there are in the ether.

Technically, my name is French and so if you use the accented version you are correct. And, yes I know it’s generally a French man’s name and I am neither French nor a man so let’s stop that argument right there. I didn’t name myself, my mom did. Which brings me to my family whom I’m not sure ever called me by my full name. To them I am Jeannie (if you call me that and you’re not family I will punch you in the throat). There are the endearing ones my mom calls me like Honey and Pumpkin. I have the two monikers given to me by my best friend Jenn; Jeanner and Shifty (don’t ask about the later).  I have the ones given to me by colleagues such as, J.M. (which is how I sign off in emails) or the attempt to pick one or the other but not both (which I pretty much hate). And of course, there are the loving ones Matthew gives me (no you don’t get to know what those are). But most recently is the one given to me by my good friend Eddie which is Money, derived from the original J-Money.

Eddie and I.

When he started to call me that, I laughed it off never realizing in a million years that it would stick, but at this point in my life, and mainly in the gym I’m officially known as Money. In fact, there are people shocked to find out it’s not my real name (umm, really?). Most recently, someone in the gym actually called me by my full name and one of the other regulars confusingly asked what my name really was. “Jeanne-Michele,” I replied.  “Well which is it?”, he said. “Jeanne-Michele,” I replied. Like an Abbott and Costello routine it went on like that for a while until I just told him to keep calling me Money.

But here’s the thing about my Money name: I feel like it’s not just my gym name but my power name. And you know what, I like it. It’s the name people yell when they are pushing me. The one Matt uses when he tries to push me a little further on our runs. It’s the name that I use in my head when I tell myself, “Jesus, Money, come on you’ve got this.”  It’s my superhero name and I thank Eddie for that.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I am Money, hear me roar!” And why everyone needs a good workout nickname

  1. Jackie says:

    Awesome nickname! All I can think of is the Progressive commercial with the dancing dollar signs – “You go, big money!”

Leave a Reply

