“Mother May I?” and why it helps to pick a new month to up your exercise regime

A nice Spring distraction for when you tire mid-run.

I haven’t really been taking running seriously lately, not since October, but with Matt preparing for his first full marathon he’s been kind of riding me to up my game. As I already decided that May was going to be the month to workout more and go up in weights in Body Pump, I might as well get back into running.

Today, I ran what should be my normal Wednesday five miles and was surprised I had the energy to complete it. Lately, I’ve just been so slag and allowed every excuse in the world to get in my way. Proper fuel helps and I guess I had that in my favor, but still I felt a lot stronger than I have in the past couple months. This might sound odd, but I have these little markers along my route that are total mental blocks. I find I hit the same place and feel the same thing every time at that spot and that can’t be a coincidence. I guess I associate those places with “thirsty”, “tired”, “sidestitchy”, etc. For some reason the hardest marker for me is at mile 4, but today I just said, “Money, you can do this, May is your month, go,” and I did.

The flock of baby ducklings I passed sure helped perk my ass up.  Though when I gasped aloud, “Eeeek Baby Ducks!!!”  I scared the poor woman watching them.

It made me realize that it had been FOREVERsince I ran that last mile because there were these buildings that weren’t there before and oh so much construction.  So, so much construction. I had to run around ladders (not under), stacks of 4x4s, odd fencing, plaster removal, etc. When I got home I was coughing up what I hope is plaster (which also seemed to be stuck to my face).  When I sat down and had my cat Luna jump on me, I’d normally care about her hair on my sweat but at that point what was the difference of adding fur to the mix.

I knew this was a good run though because a lot of the things that normally annoy me about running, those external things you can’t control (I have a list), didn’t bother me today. I just ran. I wish I knew had to channel that more often.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

