Please Share the Road (My List of Top Annoyances Trying to Maneuver on City Streets as a Runner or Pedestrian)

This morning Matt went for a run and ended up having a man curse and yell at him because he wanted to drive through a red light and Matt was in the way. It made me think about an incident yesterday where a man decided to make a U-turn directly in front of me almost hitting me as I tried to cross the street. I ran into him a bit down the street and he smiles and says to me, “I’m sorry I startled you.” What came out of my mouth and what was in my head were clearly two different things. What I said was, “Whatever I’m used to it.” What was in my head was, “Mother F…., you call almost hitting me a startle?”

This all got me to thinking:  regardless of my form of non vehicle mobility (running, walking, doing Maneuvers) the same things that annoy me about people will simply never change (unless someone comes up with a new way to be a ass).

I have written in the past about gym etiquette, but the rules need to change out in the elements. Etiquette is Etiquette. Courtesy and obeying rules are an important part of civilization. Obviously, there are things you can’t control. Animals, unexpected construction, random parades, etc, but there is plenty human nature can control and sometimes I just want to scream at people (sometimes I do but I get a lot of stares).

And so I give, in no particular order, “The Top Things I Hate About Moving Around in the City”:

1)      People (most and all)

A)     People wearing headphones

I hate these people because they tend to never hear you coming behind them and those who do seem to have no clue they have to move out of the way. What I hate more than people in earbuds though are Space Eaters wearing earbuds. Space Eaters are the kind of people that no matter what their size it is impossible, no matter how hard you try, to actually get around them. They somehow manage to eat up all of the space.

B)      People with dogs

Especially people with dogs on retractable leashes because they never seem to ever actually retract those leashes out of your running or path even though they clearly see you.

C)      People with kids

Kids don’t have retractable leashes and should.

D)     People with Cars

People who pull their cars directly into the crosswalk. People who U-turn in the crosswalk. People who think red lights and Stop signs are a suggestion. People who only look in the direction of traffic coming toward them but never, ever, ever in the direction they are about to turn (i.e. directly into you).

E)      Multiple People

As in: three people in a row walking down a narrow path each with a baby carriage.

F)      People who” think” they walk Fast

I’m a fast walker, I mean super speedy I-walk-faster-than-I-run walker. And yet people always attempt to try and pass me even though it took me four blocks and mere seconds to catch up to them. I will pass you, you will never pass me. This isn’t a competition so please stop whatever you think you are doing.

2) Non-People Annoyances

G) Being stopped at a red light

You have to run in place and I never know what to do with my arms. You just end up looking stupid regardless of how common of a site it is.

H) Cobblestone

Impossible to run on, enough said.

I) The Wind

I just hate the wind in general.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

