Go Me! Two (not so great) days in a row. Woo Hoo to running!

I’ve been getting a lot of flack lately for not running. I’m still working out normally at the gym, but running, eh, not so much (as you can read from the lack of me writing about it.) Every time Elizabeth asks me, “Did you run this week?”, we both know the answer to that question, and I can’t help but feel a pang of guilt when she asks. And then there is Matt who is in full-blown Marathon training so he doesn’t understand why I’m slacking with runs.

Courtesy of Plutos the Bubblemans’…

I decided to run for the first time in probably a month yesterday and Matt said to me, “The weather is absolutely perfect for a run so try and enjoy yourself a little. “ Enjoy myself? Total strangers know I don’t enjoy myself. Nice weather or not, it’s just such a chore for me to run. I wish so badly I was that person who could get up, throw clothes on and run 5 to 6 miles with no food or fuel, but I’m not. I’m the person who if everything isn’t done to an exact science will inevitably have a bad run. And I’m the person who can never, ever get out of their own head.

In the end I did surprisingly well (for me and my brain) but I still never finished the full 5 miles I’m supposed to do on Wednesdays. I got to 4 before I came across a giant backhoe at an intersection I just couldn’t pass so I had to stop and walk around it. I started back up and made it to the top of the hill when I started to hyperventilate and so stopped again. (Though I’m not sure how much that was running or pollen which I have a major issue with. Coughing fits are pretty norm for me this season.)

So today I decided to forgo spin and try running again. And you know what, it was Awful! I was molasses slow and children were passing me by. While this may sound odd to a runner I’ve actually never run two days in a row. It wasn’t my worst run but definitely not my best. I had absolutely no steam from the moment I left the house. I thought maybe I just needed to push some lactic acid out but it never happened. I even made a homemade “sports drink” I read about in Runner’s World (a mixture of salt and honey in water) but all that did was taste horrible. I wouldn’t recommend it unless you like the taste of old gym socks. It’s about as useful too.

But I did it, I ran not once but twice this week. And even though when I got home and attempted to stretch and got stuck on my back like a bug trying desperately to roll over, I still did it. Heck, if I’m feeling up to it, maybe I’ll go for a bad run Saturday too.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

