Bikram Yoga: Part I, Time is Everything

I bought a Groupon for a local Bikram Studio back in May ($15 for 5 classes). For those of you who don’t know what Bikram Yoga (aka Hot Yoga) is, it’s 90 minutes of yoga in a hot room usually around 105°F. I’ve never tried it before but plenty of people sing the praises of its benefits and at that price why not try it.

As a person with a constant bevy of injuries I could truly benefit from this but admittedly I’ve been taking my time cashing in this Groupon. As people who take Body Flow with me know three things about me. 1) I am balanced challenged. 2) I’m half and half on my flexibility. 3) I can’t keep my mouth shut for 50 minutes let alone 90. Long story short, up until this point I’ve been afraid to walk into this Bikram studio bringing my Laverne & Shirley style yoga into their midst. Those people will end up hating me. I find some yoga people to be a bit uptight on a good day and I don’t want to get kicked out. Plus, and a minor plus, everyone says you need to wear shorts and I hate shorts. Nothing screams, “HEY, I HAVE THIGHS!!!,” like a pair of shorts.

But this week I got a strange sense of confidence and decided it was time to try Bikram Yoga. Yesterday, I went online and registered my information, signed up for a class and filled in and printed out my waiver. This morning, I got up early so I had time to be hungry since they say to eat 2 to 3 hours beforehand, and had a healthy breakfast of oatmeal with fresh peach. I even went as far as to make dinner (a lovely Asian noodle salad with zucchini and mint) just in case I would be too tired to cook, as well as did the dishes and cleaned the kitchen. Next, I carefully packed my bag so I could grab everything with ease as I needed it and even stopped by the store on the way there to get a Gatorade for after class. I joyfully walked up the three flights of stairs only to find the door locked. I was surprised because I was definitely 20 minutes early like they asked so I tried to open the door again. Stumped I stood in a hot stairwell trying to figure out what was wrong. So, I looked at my phone and it read, “11:43 am.” Yup, 20 minutes early alright. And then I had one of those head smacking, Homer Simpson “Doh” moments: Class started at 11 am. I couldn’t have felt any stupider or flightier at that moment. I was too busy over thinking everything else to consider the one damn thing that actually mattered, the time.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Running, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

