Bikram Yoga: Part II, Electric Boogaloo

I finally made it in the door this time!

First, let me state off the bat that I really liked it. It was difficult, but I’m OK with difficult when it’s beneficial. I also liked the vibe of the studio. The owner taught the class and she wasn’t just nice but laid back too. Plus, the first person to walk in the door was someone I actually knew which made me more relaxed as well.

As for the class, I really had no idea what to expect. So many people had basically scared the beejuses out of me on the sweat and heat  and what I should wear thing but I was fine. I mean, yeah, you sweat your eyeballs out, but I wasn’t uncomfortable because I didn’t wear simply shorts and a sports bra. Capris and a tank top were fine by me. You sweat regardless, what does it matter how many inches less of clothing you have? I had the proper amount of water and I took the advice of gym regular Margaret to freeze half of the bottle and fill the rest with water, which worked perfect since I had ice cold water the whole 90 minutes.

Second, I also did a heck of a lot better than I ever thought. I went in thinking if I have to stop I have to stop, but not only did I not stop (well once, but that was a breathing issue), I pushed myself to be on par with as many people in class as possible. Though, of course the female Stretch Armstrong next to me wasn’t even an option as someone to follow (damn that girl was bendy). After class I had people asking me what was my studio before and were shocked to hear it was my first time. The teacher mentioned it was my first time, but I guess I was decent enough that they assumed it was my first time at Bikram Yoga Baltimore not my first time ever. I felt a little proud of that if I do say so myself. Afterward, Matthew told me I looked instantly thinner but geez why wouldn’t I? I must have sweat out a month’s worth of toxins, if not more.  I will say this, if there ever is a major event I need to thin out for and look good, this is the class to take beforehand.

I have four more classes left on my Groupon so I guess that’s one more thing I now have to find money for. Oh and Suzanne’s Bootcamp, oh and Body Pump certification and then AFAA training, oh and then registration for the half marathon in October and well money in general because I can’t afford any of this.

 

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

