And Away We Go: Baltimore Half Marathon Take II

Baltimore beware.

Thanks to my friend Heather, I had to throw my hat back in the ring this year and sign up for the Baltimore Half-Marathon. We have 11 weeks (or 79 days) to train and between the heat wave and, well, just not wanting to run I’m pretty behind. I went out today and barely made 5 miles before hyperventilating (kind of reminds me of the good old days).

Other than the issue of making the miles over the next 11 weeks, I have a lot to think about and plan. This is the first time I’m running with someone and not only do Heather and I not know what it’s like to run together we don’t even live near each other to find out. Heather is training in Queens, I’m here in Baltimore and we’re using MapMyRun (way more advanced than last year) to see how we compare. I also need to decide if I want to run the whole thing again (Matt is strongly pushing for it) because Heather was thinking of a walk/run combo.

We’ll be doing it for the Children’s Heart Program Team (click here to donate) so it’s not like I have to prove anything to myself again. I know I can complete the race if I train properly, but last year was so lonely and it’d be rude to not stick with a friend coming in from out of town.  The next few weeks will be interesting for sure until Heather and I can solidify a plan. Until then I’ll just keep running and mentally prepare to do it all over again. I don’t want to wear my swag in shame that’s for sure.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

