My Personal Best or why Mama Needs an Epsom Salt Bath

I had two pretty decent runs this week. Both were tough albeit, but at least I don’t feel like I’m so behind in training. I completed 6 miles on Wednesday and 7 today. Though I forgot how hard some of the hills in this town are. After the first two miles — all up hill — I thought I was ready to quit right then and there. But I didn’t, I finished the whole 7 miles. And not only did I finish the whole 7 miles, I did it in one hour, my personal best. I swear I didn’t think I was moving that fast. Compared to Matt though, I’m a slug.

I’ve been trying something new with mixing Gatorade into my water. I did it once last year and it messed with my stomach so I stopped and moved onto Gu Gels. But Gu Gels are disgusting (though obviously work) so I’ve decided to try the Gatorade again and while it still messes with my stomach it does seem to give me energy when I need it. I did this with my last two runs and both times it worked so I’m hoping maybe it’ll mess with me less as time goes on.

The other thing that helped me today was Nice Matt showed up to 1) carry the water bottles and 2) not once mention that he’s training for the Full marathon. I was pretty sure that was going to get thrown in my face at some point.  Have you read the article in The Onion of the guy who ran a Marathon?

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

