I Run Therefore I Am

Since I’ve been running I’ve learned to step aside when I realize there are runner’s coming up behind me. It’s a pet peeve of mine when I have to say, “Excuse me,” to people who should clearly hear me coming up the rear so I try to show similar respect to other runners. Sometimes I’m thanked, other times I’m ignored. Either way I know I’ve done the right thing.

Last night a young woman was coming up behind Matt and I and I told him to move aside because of the runner. She smiled and said, “Not a runner, Jogger,” and as she passed by, I said back to her,”Honey you’re running, you’re a runner.”  What it made me realize though was unlike any other sport or exercise that I can think of, running has a stigma,” You are a either a runner or you are not.” And a lot of times it seems people who consider themselves hardcore runners will say Not. But why is that? You workout, you run, you run distances, why can’t you be a runner? Why is it that people have to pile into forums like in Runner’s World to ask when do they get to become a runner? And if anyone has read the Runner’s World Forums they know just how downright mean some people can get.

Here’s my thing; if you run and run distance then you’re a friggin’ runner: plain and simple. If I go to the gym, it is generally considered that I’m a person who exercises. No one goes to gym forums and asks, when am I officially exercising? So why is there so much pressure from people who run to know exactly when they can call themselves runners?

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

