Spite, the Quicker Picker Upper

Yesterday, I ran into a woman from the gym that I haven’t seen in almost a year. I stopped just to say hi and the first thing out of her mouth was, “Where’d you get those love handles?” followed by, “What happened to your arms. You’ve gained weight clearly you aren’t running.” I was flabbergasted. Beyond flabbergasted in fact.

The nerve of some people. Who says stuff like that? We’re acquaintances at best not best friends. I tried to shrug it off not knowing what to say and she continued to insult me basically just pointing out what she considered were my every flaw.

Ok, maybe I don’t look like I looked a year ago, but I’m not a whale. And even if I was, she has no right to say anything to me in the first place. If I gained any weight it’s minimal. My clothes still fit so how bad could it be. We all aren’t perfect 100% of the time. Sometimes we get in slumps, than we get out of them. That’s life.

When I realized she wasn’t going to stop talking about my apparent blob of a figure I cut her off and told her I had to errands to run. I really didn’t deserve that kind of abuse and my feelings were truly hurt. I couldn’t sleep last night, playing over her nasty comments in my head like a broken record. I know I shouldn’t take it personally, clearly she’s unhinged but negative comments are still mean regardless of who said them. Whether they are true or not it’s hard for them to not resonate. The whole thing was downright cruel.

Today on my run I was trying to figure out how to deal with this exchange since I clearly need to let it go. I can’t be wasting my good night’s sleep on this woman. I decided I’m going to turn this negative into a positive and use good old fashioned spite to show her I’ve still got it. No person, nobody has the right to bring me down. If this is the thing to push me stronger and harder over the next month so be. Bring on the spite!

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Exercise, Fitness, Gyms, Running, Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spite, the Quicker Picker Upper

  1. Sarah C says:

    Good for you – I always say don’t tell me I can’t do something, because all that will do is make me want it even more. But really, who would seriously say something like that? Rude doesn’t even start to describe it.

Leave a Reply

